Skip to main content

Faculty

Jump to Last Name:

Martha Biondi

Martha Biondi

Lorraine H. Morton Professor of African American Studies and Professor of History

Phone number: 847-491-4806
Office location: Crowe Hall Room 5-107, 1860 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208
m-biondi@northwestern.edu

Sherwin K. Bryant

Sherwin K. Bryant

Associate Professor of African American Studies and History; Director of the Center for African American History

Phone number: 847-491-3756
Office location: Crowe Hall Room 5-125, 1860 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208
s-bryant@northwestern.edu

Barnor Hesse

Barnor Hesse

Associate Professor of African American Studies, Political Science, and Sociology

Phone number: 847-491-3775
Office location: Crowe Hall Room 5-131, 1860 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208
hb-hesse@northwestern.edu

E. Patrick Johnson

E. Patrick Johnson

Chair of the Department of African American Studies; Carlos Montezuma Professor of African American Studies and Performance Studies

Phone number: 847-491-7958
Office location: Crowe Hall Room 5-101, 1860 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208
e-johnson10@northwestern.edu

Mary Pattillo

Mary Pattillo

Harold Washington Professor of Sociology and African American Studies; Institute for Policy Research Faculty Affiliate; Director of Graduate Studies, Department of African American Studies

Phone number: 847-491-2036
Office location: Crowe Hall Room 5-111, 1860 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208
m-pattillo@northwestern.edu

Nitasha Tamar Sharma

Nitasha Tamar Sharma

Director of Asian American Studies (2017-21); Associate Professor of African American Studies and Asian American Studies; Charles Deering McCormick Professor of Teaching Excellence

Phone number: 847-467-0448
Office location: Crowe Hall 5-133, 1860 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208
n-sharma@northwestern.edu

Tracy Vaughn-Manley

Tracy Vaughn-Manley

Associate Professor of Instruction, African American Studies; Charles Deering McCormick Distinguished Professor of Instruction, African American Studies Director of Undergraduate Studies

Phone number: 847-491-3725
Office location: Crowe Hall Room 5-143, 1860 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208
t-vaughn@northwestern.edu

Celeste Watkins-Hayes

Celeste Watkins-Hayes

Associate Vice President, Office for Research; Professor of African American Studies and Sociology

Phone number: 847-491-4805 (African American Studies), 847-467-7768 (Sociology)
Office location: African American Studies: Crowe Hall 5-113, 1860 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208; Sociology: 1810 Chicago Avenue Evanston, IL 60208
c-watkins@northwestern.edu

Back to top