Faculty

Martha Biondi | Professor of African American Studies and History

Martha Biondi
  • Phone: 847-491-4806
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department Crowe 5-107 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: m-biondi@northwestern.edu

Sherwin K. Bryant | Associate Professor of African American Studies and History; Director of the Center for African American History

Sherwin K. Bryant
  • Phone: 847-491-3756
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department Crowe 5-125 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: s-bryant@northwestern.edu

Melanie Chambliss | Postdoctoral Fellow

Melanie Chambliss
  • Phone: 847-467-0751
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department Crowe 5-140 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: melanie.chambliss@northwestern.edu

Barnor Hesse | Associate Professor of African American Studies, Political Science, and Sociology

Barnor Hesse
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department Crowe 5-131 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: hb-hesse@northwestern.edu

Darlene Clark Hine | Board of Trustees, Professor of African American Studies and Professor of History

Darlene Clark Hine
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department Crowe 5-134 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: d-hine@northwestern.edu

E. Patrick Johnson | Chair of the Department of African American Studies, Carlos Montezuma Professor of African American Studies and Performance Studies

E. Patrick Johnson
  • Phone: 847-491-7958
  • Office Location: 1860 Campus Dr. Crowe 5-101, 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: e-johnson10@northwestern.edu

Sylvester Johnson | Associate Professor of African American Studies and Religious Studies

Sylvester Johnson

John David Marquez | Associate Professor of African American and Latino/a Studies

John David Marquez
  • Phone: 847-467-0503
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department 5-135 Crowe 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: j-marquez@northwestern.edu

Dwight A. McBride | Dean of The Graduate School & Associate Provost, Daniel Hale Williams Professor of African American Studies, English, & Performance Studies

Dwight A. McBride
  • Phone: 847-491-5122
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department 5-142 Crowe 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: dwight-mcbride@northwestern.edu

Jennifer Christine Nash | Associate Professor of African American Studies and Gender & Sexuality Studies

Jennifer Christine Nash

Mary Pattillo | Harold Washington Professor of Sociology and African American Studies, Institute for Policy Research Faculty Affiliate, African American Studies Director of Graduate Studies

Mary Pattillo
  • Phone: 847-491-2036
  • Office Location: Department of African American Studies 5-111 Crowe 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: m-pattillo@northwestern.edu

Sandra L. Richards | Professor in Residence and Director of the Liberal Arts program at Northwestern University in Qatar; Professor of African American Studies, Theater, and Performance Studies at Northwestern University in Evanston, IL.

Sandra L. Richards
  • Phone: 847-491-7958
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department 5-101 Crowe 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: s-richards@northwestern.edu

Nitasha Tamar Sharma | Associate Professor of African American Studies, Asian American Studies, and Performance Studies; Charles Deering McCormick Professor of Teaching Excellence

Nitasha Tamar Sharma
  • Phone: 847-467-0448
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department 5-133 Crowe 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: n-sharma@northwestern.edu

Debra E. Thompson | Assistant Professor of African American Studies

Debra E. Thompson
  • Phone: 847-491-3725 / Fax: 847-491-4803
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department, Crowe 5-141, 1860 S. Campus Dr.
  • E-mail: debra.thompson@northwestern.edu

Tracy Vaughn | Associate Professor of Instruction; Associate Professor in Residence, Liberal Arts Program at Northwestern University, Qatar

Tracy Vaughn
  • Phone: 847-491-3725
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department Crowe 5-128 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: t-vaughn@northwestern.edu

Celeste Watkins-Hayes | Associate Professor of African American Studies & Sociology, African American Studies Director of Undergraduate Studies

Celeste Watkins-Hayes
  • Phone: 847-491-4805 (AFAM), 847-467-7768 (Soc)
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department 5-113 Crowe 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209, Department of Sociology 1810 Chicago Avenue Evanston, IL 60208
  • E-mail: c-watkins@northwestern.edu

Alexander Weheliye | Professor of African American Studies

Alexander Weheliye
  • Phone: 847-491-4863
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department Crowe 5-121 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: a-weheliye@northwestern.edu

Michelle M. Wright | Professor of African American Studies and Comparative Literary Studies

Michelle M. Wright
  • Phone: 847-467-5414
  • Office Location: African American Studies Department Crowe 5-129 1860 S. Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208-2209
  • E-mail: michelle-wright@northwestern.edu